Skip to content
April 18, 2013 / kathrynllewellyn

I think a change will do us all good

It’s year three of Positive Women being part of the Live Below the Line Campaign and it is proving the hardest year yet to get people to sign up.

This will be my 3rd year of taking the challenge and don’t get me wrong I’m not looking forward to spending 5 days with limited food choices and no coffee! But this campaign is about looking beyond the challenge and seeing the good that will come out the other end.

We far too often drift through life putting off taking challenges that make us uncomfortable and trying not to think about the problems of the world. Or the problems we care about shift from one day to the next and one week to the next and leave us all feeling a bit powerless and that even if do something to change one thing, something else will come along next week.

I’m the same, I spend one week furious about the war in Syria and the next about the tragedy at the Boston Marathon. We are human and we care and we get angry – that’s all normal and right. But what we are not is powerless. We do have the power to make a change in the world.

Many times people have belittled the work we do in Swaziland as not making a big enough difference on a big enough scale. Sometimes this really gets to me and I want to do more and I want to help everyone all of the time.

I don’t want to go to Swaziland and see children as young as 3 or 4 suffering from malnutrition and without any adults to look after them. I don’t want to go to Swaziland and see girls as young as 11 being a parent to their three younger siblings. But the reality is that things take time to change and we can’t all help everyone all of the time. But we can all help somebody some of the time.

That is what this challenge is. Its you taking 5 days to help raise money and awareness about the lives of women and children who live in one of the poorest countries in the world and who have no-one else to speak for them or to help them thrive.

If you raise £100 – we can feed a child for 5 months. So you give up 5 days and you help one child for 5 months. Lucky you, lucky us that we can have that impact on the world and on someone else’s life in such a short space of time.

I am choosing to Living Below the Line from the 29th April – 3rd May, because women and children in Swaziland have no choice but to live there every day and I just don’t think that’s acceptable and I am damn well going to change it.

Join me and sign up to Live Below the Line for Positive Women https://www.livebelowtheline.com/uk-positivewomen

or support me by donating: https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/katllewellyn

Leave a Reply

