Skip to content
June 3, 2016 / kathrynllewellyn

I am not asking you to sponsorship me to run a 5k in New York. Well technically I am, but please read on.

Sponsor me has become that email subject heading that we all dread. “Not another one of my friends wanting some money for a jog around a park” “I’m not paying for her to walk up a hill” I hear you cry, because I cry it too. Sponsorship has lost its meaning. We have become disconnected as participants and donors to the causes we undertake challenges for and sponsor.

I am writing this sat on a flight, with a grumpy boyfriend and a tired toddler, with two hours of a 7 hour journey left. I’ve actually quite enjoyed it. It’s given me quality time with my family and is creating memories for Hope, my little girl. We will spend a few days in New York and on Saturday I will join a crowd of people for the last 5k of what will be the biggest ever coast to coast relay across the USA. It will be a hard 5k for me as it is the first bit of exercise of properly undertaken in about 3 years. I am lucky to have had this as the motivation of this to get out and train.

So, I want to be clear, I am not asking you to give up your hard earned cash to reward me in some way. Far from it. I am lucky I have this opportunity. I am however asking you to give up a small amount of your hard earned cash for some people around the world who have very few opportunities.

I lead an organisation that is not easy to talk about: We do not have a snazzy name (although this is soon to change), we cannot profess in a quick sentence to save Africans children or give everyone clean water. I have learned over the years that this approach does not work the way we all want to believe it does, I wish it did.

Development does work, if it is done in the right way. We do the thing that is hardest to do – we listen to the people that are surviving and beating extreme poverty or situations of great inequality. We do this through being respectful of peoples’ situations and challenges and supporting them in a way that is right for them. This is the way we all want to and should be treated and the beauty of it is, that it actually works. It creates lasting and meaningful and empowering changes.

So no soundbite, but for change that sticks please give £5, £10 or more if you can, to help us to keep doing the right thing for people all around the world.

https://unitedrelay.org/u/KathrynLlewellyn/sponsor

Thank you
Kathryn x

Leave a Reply

